Committee Assignments for State Senate and General Assembly Announced

Senate President Steve Sweeney and Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin announced the committee chairpersons and committee members for the 218th Legislative Session. While most committee chairs remained the same, several important committees will see new leaders in both the Assembly and Senate.

Assemblywoman Eliana Pintor Marin (D-28) became Chairwoman of the Assembly Budget Committee, succeeding Assemblyman Gary Schaer (D-36) who had chaired the committee for the past several sessions. Assemblyman Gordon Johnson (D-37) returned to his chairmanship of the Assembly Commerce Committee after having relinquished that role last session, and Assemblyman John McKeon (D-27) assumed the Chairmanship of the Assembly Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee. A new committee, the Assembly Science and Technology Committee, was formed and will be chaired by Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker (D-16). Lastly, Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin (D-18) will chair the Assembly Environment and Solid Waste Committee.

Senator Bob Gordon (D-38) took over the chairmanship of the Senate Transportation Committee, a position previously held by Senator Nick Sacco (D-32). By becoming Chair of Senate Transportation, Senator Gordon relinquished his Chairmanship of the Senate Legislative Oversight Committee, which will now be led by Senator Brian Stack (D-33). Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D-5) is the new Chairwoman of the Senate Economic Growth Committee, which was previously chaired by Senator Raymond Lesniak who retired from the Senate. Senator Paul Sarlo (D-36) remains Chairman of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee, and Senator Nick Scutari (D-22) also remains Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

The Senate and Assembly Committee Memberships can be found here.

You may also like...